Trash and restoration

How Trash works and restoring deleted files

A common scenario

Oh no! You just accidentally deleted a file you've been working on all afternoon! Not to worry -- it is saved to Trash and can be restored for the next 30 days. 

About Trash

When you choose to delete files, the files are not immediately deleted, but are instead moved into your Trash. The Trash is only visible once a file has been deleted. There are two types of deleted files:

  • Files deleted through the right-click menu, or the delete button.
  • Files overwritten in the upload screen, or the manage screen.

Files which are deleted are sent to the trash. If a file is accidentally sent to the Trash, it may be restored.

Restore a deleted file or folder

  1. Double click the Trash icon located in your home folder.
  2. Right-click on the file or folder you wish to restore.
  3. Select the Restore option.

The file or folder will be restored to the original location. If the original location no longer exists, or you no longer have access to the location, you will be prompted to provide a new restore location for the file or folder.

Notes: Deleted items are purged from the trash after 30 days and cannot be restored once they have been deleted. 

Content of the trash counts toward your XDrive storage quota. Deleting trash will free up additional space.  

Permanently delete all files and folders within your Trash

  1. Double click the Trash icon located in your home folder.
  2. To delete the entire contents of Trash, click the Empty Trash button. This will also delete the contents of your Overwritten Files folder.
  3. Confirm that you wish to permanently delete all items in your Trash by clicking Ok or click Cancel if you do not wish to empty Trash at this time.