Permissions & Sharing

Definitions

When sharing a file or folder, you will be using either the Sharing screen or the Permissions screen.

The Sharing feature allows you to quickly provide access to a GSE or non-GSE affiliate as either a contributor or viewer of a file or folder.

The Permissions feature allows you to provide detailed access such as Read, Write, Delete, and Administer access to GSE affiliate users only. You may either use these options separately or in conjunction to provide a customized level of access.

Accessing the permissions and sharing features

To set permissions, right-click your folder or file from within XDrive Web or your XDrive folder and select "Manage." In the next set of menu options, choose the "Permissions" option.

To share from XDrive web, select your file or folder and click the "Share" folder. To share from XDrive folders, right click the item, and click "Sharing..."

Permissions and Sharing levels overview

By default, every item is created with 3 sets of permissions:

  • Owner - You are the owner of the items within your own account.
  • Users with Accounts - Any users, in your Organization or outside of your Organization, that have a XDrive account. Users must be logged in to their XDrive account in order to gain access to the files or folders.
  • Public - Any user accessing the service without an account or those users with accounts who have not logged in. Use this option to make your files and folders public to the outside world.

Within the Document Manager, there is a column labeled Shared To. This column identifies the following:

  • "None" This file or folder is not shared to any other user.
  • "Some" This file or folder is shared with another user, but not all users.
  • "Everyone" This file or folder is shared with either the Public or shared with all users with an account.

XDrive enables you to control access to your files in four different ways, represented by the four columns of permissions: Read, Write, Delete, and Administer.

Read Permission

Read permission allows the user or Group of users to view the file or folder only. If a user is granted Read access on a folder, they are not automatically granted Read access to all of the folder's contents. The user will only have access to view the folders, sub-folders and files to which you have implicitly granted them access.

Write Permission

Write permission allows the user or Group of users to write to the file or folder only. Write access includes the following: viewing, editing, renaming both the contents and options of the file or folder. If a user is granted Write access on a folder, they are not automatically granted Write access to all of the folder's contents. The user will only have access to write to the folders, sub-folders and files to which you have explicitly granted them access.

Delete Permission

Delete permission allows the user or Group of users to move the file or folder to the trash. If a user is granted Delete access on a folder, they are not automatically granted Delete access to all of the folder's contents. The user will only have access to delete the folders, sub-folders and files to which you have explicitly granted them access.

Administer Permission

Administer permission allows the user or Group of users full access to a file or folder's Manage/Summary screen and the permission to make modifications to all "Manage" items. If a user is granted Administer access on a folder, they are not automatically granted Administer access to all of the folder's contents. The user will only have access to administer the folders, sub-folders and files to which you have explicitly granted them access.