Managing Departmental Groups

Managing a group

Two common scenarios

1) You manage a large department and need a space where everyone has common access to the same large set of files. 

2) You are starting a new cross-departmental working group and need a space to store common files. 

Add or remove users to an existing Group

  1. Within the Main Menu, click the Setup link.
  2. Click the My Contacts tab.
  3. Click on the Groups tab.
  4. Place a checkmark in the box associated to the group you wish to modify, and then click the Edit button.
  5. Place a checkmark in the box associated to the user(s) you wish to remove from the group, and then click the Delete button. Click the Add Member button if you wish to add additional users to the group.
  6. Click the Exit button when you have completed configuring your Group.

Create a new group

  1. Within the Main Menu, click the Setup link.
  2. Click the My Contacts tab.
  3. Click the Groups tab.
  4. Click the New Group button.
  5. Provide a Name for the Group, and then click Next.
  6. Use the Find feature to locate users.
  7. Select the users you wish to add, and click the Add Selected Users button. Repeat this process for each of the users you wish to add.
  8. Click the Save button when you have completed configuring your Group.

Setting up and working with Versioning

A common scenario

A GSE director has an XDrive folder called Project Plans with four subfolders, each containing a project plan from each department manager. As the director edits the plans, she wants to keep each manager's original version. Enabling XDrive's Versioning feature for this Project Plan folder will allow her to see the original and all subsequent versions. 

How to set up Versioning

  1. Select the folder
  2. On the Manage menu, select Default Versioning 
  3. Selects ON in the dropdown box to enable versioning
  4. Check to Apply this Setting to all sub-folders as well as all files
  5. Click on Apply and Exit.

Viewing Versions

  1. Select the file 
  2. Select Versioning from the Manage menu 

The versioning dialog box will shows all versions with time stamps.